Two No. Smithfield senators to serve on funding formula task force


PROVIDENCE – A nine member task force slated to look at the state’s education funding formula will include two senators who represent North Smithfield among its ranks.

Sen. Melissa Murray, a Democrat representing District 24 in Woonsocket and North Smithfield, and Sen. Thomas Paolino, a Republican representing District 17 in Lincoln, North Providence and North Smithfield, have been appointed to the new board by Sen. President Dominick Ruggerio.

Sen. Ryan Pearson of District 19 in Cumberland and Lincoln will chair the special task force, charged with making a comprehensive study of the funding formula and report on its findings and recommendations to the Senate at the beginning of the next session in January.

“We want to take a close look at the state’s funding formula to see whether it’s meeting the needs of students, schools and taxpayers,” said Pearson, who introduced the resolution creating the commission. “All children should have a meaningful education regardless of economic means, and the funding formula should treat all taxpayers equitably. We want to make sure the formula reflects the needs of students, and provides stable and predictable funding while correcting any inequities.”

Also serving on the commission will be Sens. Sandra Cano, Louis DiPalma, Harold Metts, Gordon Rogers, Adam Satchell and James Seveney.

Sen. William Conley, chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, and Sen. Hanna Gallo, chairwoman of the Senate Education Committee, will serve as members ex-officio.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!

Leave a Reply