Few declare plans to run for election in Burrillville; Challenges submitted in school board & District 47 races

Rep. David Place, left, will face a challenge from Paul Roselli.

BURRILLVILLE – When the period to declare the intent to run for town and state offices ended Wednesday afternoon, few in Burrillville had said they’d seek positions in this year’s election cycle.

On the Town Council, just three candidates registered for three open seats: Anne Brown, Kevin McDaniel and incumbent Justin Batalon, all Republicans. Two term Councilor Raymond Trinque announced in February that he would not seek reelection this year, and Councilor Jeremy Bailey, the lone Democrat on the current board who has served since 2016, has also opted not to run in 2024.

Bailey could not immediately be reached for comment on the decision. Incumbent Councilors Donald Fox, Stephen Rawson, Dennis Anderson and David Houle still have two years remaining in their four year terms.

All three incumbents declared their intent to seek re-election to the Burrillville School Committee, with Republicans Donison Allen, Sean Bouzan and Victor Bevilacqua indicating plans to run for another term. John Anthony Scott, an independent who previously served on the Town Council, also submitted papers to run for school board this week.

In the General Assembly, District 47 Rep. David Place will face a challenge this year from Democrat Paul Roselli, and Sen. Jessica de la Cruz will see a contest in District 23 from Democrat Lewis Pryor. District 48 Rep. Brian Newberry, meanwhile, will not have a registered opponent in 2024.

Those who have declared their intent to run must now submit signed nomination papers in order to be listed on the ballot this November.

Editor’s note: The above article originally stated that there was no contest in District 23. We apologize for the error.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam!

Leave a Reply